New Yearís resolutions that could save your life!

New Year's resolutions often begin with "I will lose five pounds" or "I promise to exercise." But there are other resolutions that could save you a trip to the doctor or, worse, the hospital. These New Year resolutions may be easier to keep Ė for you and your family.

1) Ask Questions!

No matter where you are working or what type of job you are doing, you could be at risk of getting injured. When starting a new job, be sure to consider the following questions Ė it could save your life!

Questions to ask when you start work

2) Get trained!

Did you know know that less than half of young workers will receive the safety training they need to do their job properly? According to a 2008 research study conducted in New Brunswick for WorkSafeNB, only 43% of young workers received health and safety training from their employer or direct supervisor before starting their job, or within the first week of work. Thatís pretty scary, donít you think? Print off the orientation checklist below and show it to your supervisor to make sure you get the proper training you deserve!

Orientation Checklist

3) Know your rights!

No matter what your job responsibilities are, you have the following three fundamental rights:

These New Year resolutions could save your life, or at least a body part. Be sure to remember them when you go to work. If you need more information on your three basic rights, or on the OHS Act, please refer to the link below, or contact WorkSafeNB at 1 800 222-9775.

Important Facts To Take To Work

HAVE A SAFE 2010!

Des résolutions du Nouvel An qui pourraient vous sauver la vie!

Les résolutions du Nouvel An ont souvent trait à la perte de poids ou aux exercices. Il y a cependant d’autres résolutions qui pourraient vous éviter une visite chez le médecin, ou pire encore, à l’hôpital. Ces résolutions pourraient être plus faciles pour vous et votre famille à tenir.

1) Posez des questions!

Peu importe où vous travaillez ou le genre de travail que vous faites, vous pourriez courir le risque de vous blesser. Lorsque vous commencez un nouvel emploi, posez-vous les questions suivantes – cela pourrait vous sauver la vie!

Questions à te poser quand tu commences à travailler

2) Recevez la formation nécessaire!

Saviez-vous que moins de la moitié des jeunes travailleurs recevront la formation en sécurité dont ils ont besoin pour bien effectuer leur travail? Selon une étude effectuée au Nouveau‑Brunswick en 2008 pour Travail sécuritaire NB, seulement 43 % des jeunes travailleurs reçoivent une formation en santé et en sécurité de leur employeur ou de leur surveillant immédiat avant de commencer leur emploi ou dans la première semaine après avoir commencé à travailler. Ça fait peur, n’est-ce pas? Faites imprimer la liste de contrôle qui suit et montrez-la à votre surveillant afin d’assurer que vous recevez la formation qu’il vous faut!

Liste de contrôle – Orientation des jeunes travailleurs

3) Connaissez vos droits!

Quelles que soient vos responsabilités, vous avez les trois droits fondamentaux que voici :

Ces résolutions pourraient vous sauver la vie ou du moins, une partie du corps. N’oubliez pas vos droits quand vous irez travailler. Si vous avez besoin de plus amples renseignements sur vos trois droits fondamentaux ou sur la Loi sur l’hygiène et la sécurité au travail, veuillez cliquer sur le lien qui suit ou communiquer avec Travail sécuritaire NB au 1 800 222‑9775.

Faits importants à apporter au travail!

Soyez prudent en 2010!