WorkSafeNB Partners with Service Canadaís Centres for Youth

Service Canada Centres for Youth (SCCY) offer a number of services specially designed to help students find a job, including detailed job postings in a variety of fields, as well as providing many links to employers, useful information on workplace health and safety and other government programs and services.

Over 300 SCCYs across Canada are open from May to August each year to help students with their career-related needs, and to enable employers to promote job opportunities.

Every year, thousands of Canadian students take on summer jobs. Sadly, some of those youth may be injured or killed in workplace accidents. To help ensure this doesnít happen, Youth Services Officers (YSOs), working out of the SCCYs, raise awareness of workplace health and safety issues with youth and employers.

Whether through classroom presentations, community kiosks or employer visits during North American Occupational Safety and Health (NAOSH) Week, YSOs are out and about in their communities, talking about workplace health and safety and encouraging people to think about how they can create a safer workplace. The YSOsí message is simple: know your rights and obligations, and take the necessary precautions to make sure that everyone is safe on the job. YSOs are youth too. They realize the importance of making young people aware that there are dangers, even in jobs that seem relatively danger-free.

Thanks to a partnership with WorkSafeNB,YSOs offer helpful and up-to-date information to youth about what they can do to ensure they donít get injured on the job.

For more information about SCCYs, visit www.servicecanada.gc.ca near you, or call 1 800 O-Canada.

Travail sécuritaire NB établit un partenariat avec les Centres Service Canada pour jeunes

Les Centres Service Canada pour jeunes offrent de nombreux services visant tout particulièrement à aider les étudiants à trouver du travail, tels que l’affichage d’avis de postes vacants détaillés dans une foule de domaines; des liens vers des employeurs; des renseignements utiles sur la santé et la sécurité au travail; ainsi que d’autres programmes et services gouvernementaux.

Chaque année, plus de 300 Centres sont ouverts de mai à août d’un bout à l’autre du pays afin de répondre aux besoins des étudiants en ce qui a trait à leur carrière et de permettre aux employeurs d’afficher leurs offres d’emploi.

Des milliers d’étudiants canadiens trouvent un emploi chaque été. Malheureusement, certains d’entre eux pourraient subir une blessure ou perdre la vie dans un accident du travail. Afin d’assurer que cela ne se produise pas, des agents des services aux jeunes qui travaillent aux Centres sensibilisent les jeunes et les employeurs à la santé et à la sécurité au travail.

Qu’il s’agisse de présentations en classe, de kiosques communautaires ou de visites chez des employeurs dans le cadre de la Semaine nord-américaine de la sécurité et de la santé au travail, les agents circulent dans leur communauté afin de parler de la santé et de la sécurité, et d’encourager les gens à réfléchir aux façons dont ils peuvent améliorer la sécurité au travail. Le message des agents est simple : connaissez vos droits et vos obligations, et prenez les précautions nécessaires afin d’assurer la sécurité de tous au travail. Les agents des services aux jeunes sont des jeunes eux aussi. Ils comprennent l’importance de sensibiliser les jeunes au fait que tout travail comporte des dangers, même un travail qui semble être relativement exempt de dangers.

Grâce à un partenariat avec Travail sécuritaire NB, les agents offrent aux jeunes canadiens des renseignements utiles et à jour sur ce qu’ils peuvent faire pour assurer qu’ils ne se blessent pas au travail.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des Centres Service Canada pour jeunes, visitez le site Web www.servicecanada.gc.ca ou composez le 1 800 O-Canada.