News Release WorkSafeNB announces 2023 student safety video winners

May 1, 2023

WorkSafeNB is thrilled to recognize this year’s Focus on Safety provincial contest winners!

Congratulations to Lilianne Gagné and Zoe Robichaud from École Mathieu-Martin for their winning video, Sécurité au travail.

They have won the first prize of $1,000 and an additional $1,000 for their school.

The first-place winning video was submitted to the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) national Focus on Safety Youth Video Contest and placed third. 

Young people are three to four times more likely to be hurt on the job within the first six months of employment than the average Canadian worker. To help reduce the risk, WorkSafeNB, in co-operation with the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, hosted the “Focus on Safety” youth video contest.

The contest challenged high school students to create a two-minute original video that captures the importance of working safely. WorkSafeNB received a record number of applicants engaged in the competition this year.

“Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all the high schools and students who participated this year”, said Richard Blais, Vice President of Prevention for WorkSafeNB. “We want young workers to feel comfortable talking to employers, friends, and family about safety. It is inspiring to see New Brunswick youth showcase so much creativity and knowledge on the topic of workplace safety and use this outlet to spread the message amongst their peers.”

The top three videos selected are:

1st place: Sécurité au travail, Lilianne Gagné and Zoe Robichaud- École Mathieu-Martin, Dieppe

2nd placeLa sécurité notre priorité, Maxime Caissie and Ophélie Robichaud- École Louis-J.-Robichaud, Shediac

3rd place: Premier jour au travail, Stanislav Korobeinikov- École Sainte-Anne, Fredericton

Second place earned $750 and third place won $500, along with matching funds for their schools.

Winning videos are posted to WorkSafeNB’s YouTube channel and social media.

Media Resources
Media Inquiries

E-News Sign-up