Board of directors

The board consists of a chairperson, a vice-chairperson, four members representing workers and four members representing employers. WorkSafeNB’s president and CEO also sits on the board as a non-voting member.

WorkSafeNB's affairs are administered by a board of directors consisting of persons appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The board of directors is charged with the stewardship of WorkSafeNB, a corporate entity created to administer the acts governing workers' compensation and workplace health and safety in New Brunswick.


Mel Norton

Haley Flaro

Douglas Jones
President and Chief Executive Officer:
(non-voting member)

Members representing workers

Members representing employers


As part of the board's commitment to remaining accountable and transparent through effective communication, oversight, auditing and evaluation, members' compensation and expenses are available for viewing.


Connecting with our board of directors 

Our board of directors is committed to engaging with you, our stakeholders. We know you’re as passionate as we are about making our province a healthy and safe place to work and live. If your organization has ideas to share with us on how to enhance the health and safety of working New Brunswickers or improve the workers’ compensation system, we’d love to hear from you. 

To present to our board, please send your email to, with your name, organization’s name, contact information and the topic you’d like to discuss.

Enterprise Risk Management

Closed December 17, 2019

        Read the policy


Identifying Suitable Employment

Consultation closed Aug. 2, 2019


Read the  policy

Funding Requests
Consultation closed Sept. 7, 2018

Read the proposed policy: Funding Requests.

Medical Aid – Opioids
Consultation closed April 15, 2018


Read the new policy: Opioids as Medical Aid
Read the feedback: Consultation Results



Closed January 12, 2019

   Read the policy


Fishing legislation 

Consultation closed Dec. 31, 2019

         Read more


Annual General Meeting

Tuesday, July 17 from 1-3 p.m.  
Delta Hotels by Marriott Beauséjour in Moncton

The session included an update on year-end financials, key drivers of the workers’ compensation system and current trends in prevention, rehabilitation and compensation.

View the presentation



Summary report

Workplace Violence | Dec. 1, 2017 | Online consultation Not available
Medical Marijuana | Oct. 15, 2017 | Online consultation Stakeholder Consultation Results


Latest Publications Type Date
AGM presentation 2021 Presentations August 12, 2021
2020 Annual General Meeting Presentations August 6, 2020
WorkSafeNB Annual General Meeting Presentations July 19, 2019
Standing Committee on Crown Corporations 2019 Presentations February 1, 2019
2018 AGM - July 17 Moncton Presentations July 17, 2018
2016 annual results stakeholder consultation Presentations June 20, 2018
Latest Publications Type Date
2020 Annual Report Corporate Reports June 30, 2021
2020 Firefighters’ Compensation Act Annual Report Corporate Reports June 30, 2021
2020 Financial Statements & Operating Results Corporate Reports June 30, 2021
WorkSafeNB 2021 Annual Plan Corporate Reports June 7, 2021
2021 Premium Rate Guide Corporate Reports November 16, 2020
2019 Financial Statements & Operating Results Corporate Reports August 5, 2020
Who we are
General Resources

E-News Sign-up